Turkey Fried Rice

I got a camera on the weekend – courtesy of my little sister @katholantern.  Now I have to learn how to use it.  Bear with me, people.

I did not have the camera when I made this.  This, in my personal opinion, is better than take-out.  It’s also probably way healthier.  I say probably because I honestly have no idea.

This comes together pretty quickly – you can use leftover cooked rice.  Also, you can substitute ground pork or chicken for the turkey.  It is amazing the next day, too.  When I have these leftovers for lunch, I get excited.  Well…actually, there aren’t too many days that I’m not excited for lunch.
At least I’m honest.

We had P & H for dinner on Friday night and we served this with spring rolls on the side.  It was de-licious.

Turkey Fried Rice

Ingredients

2 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons + 1/4 teaspoon of soy sauce
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon of minced, peeled fresh ginger
1 bunch green onions – white and green parts separated and thinly sliced
1 pound ground turkey
2 large carrots, shredded
1/2 cup fresh or frozen peas
2 cups cooked white rice (about 3/4 cup uncooked)
2 tablespoons rice vinegar

Preparation Instructions

In a wok or large non-stick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of oil over high heat.  Meanwhile, in a small bowl, lightly beat the eggs with 1/4 teaspoon soy sauce to combine.  Add the eggs to the wok and swirl to coat the bottom of the pan.  Cook without stirring until almost set, 1 minute, then fold in thirds with a spatula.  Transfer cooked eggs to a work surface and cut into 1/2 inch pieces.

Add 1 tablespoon oil to wok and swirl to coat.  Add garlic, ginger and scallion whites and cook, stirring constantly until fragrant, 30 seconds.  Add turkey and cook, breaking up the meat with a wooden spoon until cooked through.  Add carrots, peas and rice, stirring to combine. Add cooked egg, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, vinegar and cook, stirring constantly until the rice is warmed and coated.  Top with scallion greens.  Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

