Penne with Beef and Arugula

Get a camera.  Check.
Learn how to take a picture.  Check.
Load the picture onto your computer.  This is where I’m stuck.  It’s not working.  I’m hopeless.
I will see what I can figure out.  I have a plan to do some serious cooking and baking this weekend and hope to have it up and running by then.  Just so you know – I don’t think I can take pictures at each step.  It cramps my style.

I am not quite at the stage in my domesticity where I am able to create my own recipes.  I find them and I try them, sometimes I steal my mothers.  If they are good, I post them.  This is a Giada DeLaurentiis recipe, she deserves the credit.  It’s easy and delicious and can be served warm or cold.  Giada packs it for a picnic.  Isn’t she cute?  I, on the other hand, eat it out of a giant pot, standing at the counter.  Kidding.  Not.

I’d rather do that then picnic in this God-forsaken weather.  It’s FREEZING.

Penne with Beef and Arugula

Ingredients

1 pound New York Strip Steak (I used flank steak)
1 teaspoon herbs de Provence
1 garlic clove, minced
3/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus 3 tablespoons
1 pound of penne pasta
1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more for steak and pasta water
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, plus more for steak
1/4 chopped fresh basil leaves
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves
2 cups chopped arugula

Preparation Instructions

Giada says: Season the steak with salt, freshly ground pepper, herbs de Provence and minced garlic.  In a skillet, heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat.  Cook steak about 7 minutes per side.  Remove the meat from the pan and let it rest for 5 minutes.  Thinly slice the steak and set aside.

I say: season the steak with all of those same things and coat it with olive oil.  Marinate it if you wish.  BBQ it to your liking.  (She probably knows better, I’m just telling you what I did.)

Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat.  Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 to 10 minutes.  Drain the pasta, reserving 1/4 cup of the pasta water.

In a small bowl, whisk together the balsamic vinegar, Dijon mustard, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1/2 teaspoon of pepper, fresh herbs and 3/4 cups of olive oil.  In a large bowl toss the pasta with half the dressing and the reserved pasta water.  Add the arugula and the steak, more dressing and season with salt and pepper, as needed.  Toss and serve.

Leave a Reply

