Baked Potato and Leek Soup with Cheddar and Bacon

The other night when I told you I was making Hot and Sweet Drumsticks except with chicken thighs – I lied. I’m sorry.  I noticed half way through the day that I had a bunch of leeks that needed to be used and I made this.  It totally threw off my meal plan for the week.  Loud sigh.

But – it feels like fall outside and I love nothing more than soup in the fall.  Soup, crusty bread, cheese – best. meal. ever.  You should all expect a lot of soup recipes in the coming months.  I’ve warned you.

This was wonderful.

I took the picture myself.  Shut up.  It was my first time.  I have lots to learn.

Baked Potato and Leek Soup with Cheddar and Bacon

Ingredients

2 medium baker potatoes
1/4 cup butter
2 1/2 cups sliced leeks (white and light green parts only), well rinsed
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 cups chicken broth
2 cups water
2 slices bacon, crumbled
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
2 tablespoons sliced green onions or chives
Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation Instructions

Wash potatoes and bake until tender.  Set aside and cool.  Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium-low heat.  Add leeks and garlic, season with salt and pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 10 minutes.  Add broth and water.  Simmer over medium heat and cook until the leeks are tender, about 20 minutes.  Meanwhile, cook the bacon until brown and crisp.  Drain on a paper towel.

Cut the potatoes in half lengthwise.  Use a large spoon to scoop out the pulp and cut into 1/2 inch cubes.  Set aside.  Coarsely chop the skin and remaining potato and add to the pot with the leeks.

In a blender or a food processor, puree in batches.  Return the soup to the pot and reheat over medium low.  In a small bowl, whisk together the milk and sour cream until smooth, then whisk into the soup with 1/2 cup cheddar. Stir in the diced potato.

If the soup is too thick, it may be thinned with a little water.  Season to taste and garnish with remaining cheddar, bacon and green onions.  Serves 4.

One response

Leave a Reply

