French Onion Soup

This past weekend I went through two and one half pounds of butter. I baked and cooked and cooked and baked.  It was so great.  What’s not so great?  I, um, forgot to take pictures.  Everything was just so darn appetizing that I shoved it in my face before I even thought about getting the camera out.
I wasn’t born to be a food blogger.  I was born to EAT.

I have used every single piece of tupperware, every single cookie tin I own – most are in the freezer and thus I will not be able to bake until someone comes over and helps me eat some of the stuff.  Or, preferably until someone comes over and takes a few boxes of stuff home with them, eats the contents and brings the container back to me.  Thank you in advance.

I have been dreaming about French Onion Soup for a while and I finally made it.  Mmm…

The recipe called for ‘sweet onions’ and I failed to do the research on what these actually are before I got my ingredients.  I ended up using regular cooking onions and it turned out well.  Also, as I’m typing this out I realized that I did not use the flour – I must have missed that part.  I’m easily distracted.

French Onion Soup

No picture – imagine what French Onion Soup looks like.

Ingredients

1/4 cup butter
4 large  sweet onions
2 cloves garlic
2 tablespoons flour
¼ cups dry red wine
6 cups beef broth
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon black pepper
5 slices crusty bread
Provolone, Gruyere or Mozzarella cheese, grated

Preparation Instructions

Melt butter in a large saute pan.  Slice onions and saute them over medium to medium-high heat.  While they are in the pan, crush garlic and add to onions.. Let the onion/garlic mixture saute until the onions start to brown and caramelize.  Once onions have browned up, stir in your 2 tablespoons of flour and get it incorporated.

Now, you have options.  You can either transfer onions to a crock pot or continue to make the soup on the stove (requires several hours of simmering).  I used the crock pot…

Transfer onions to crock pot. Place pan back on the heat and deglaze it with the red wine. Let it simmer and reduce while you get all the bots off the bottom of the pan. After the wine has reduced to about half, pour it over the onions.  Add beef broth and sprinkle in salt and pepper. Combine and then allow the soup to slow cook for at least 6-8 hours on low.

Just before serving, use your broiler to toast your slices of bread.  Pour soup into oven safe bowls, then place a crusty piece of bread on top of each soup bowl. Sprinkle with cheese.

Place bowls on a baking sheet under your broiler for about 6-8 minutes (time varies depending on how hot your broiler gets). Caution – bowl is HOT.  Makes 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

