Super Chocolate Chunk Fudge Brownies

One weekend a few months ago I was dying to bake something – I get this feeling, well, a lot.  I had come across a few brownie recipes and I was going to have a little brownie showdown of sorts – compare a recipe for Whole Wheat Brownies with this recipe.  I had high hopes that both recipes would be good, but that by using whole wheat flour in the one recipe they would be deemed healthy (don’t tell me you don’t think that) and that I could consume the entire pan myself in one sitting and get my daily dose of fibre guilt-free.

I didn’t look at the recipes really closely, but I made my grocery list, bought my ingredients and then decided I would try this recipe first.  It took the two ENTIRE boxes of chocolate that I bought (cost approx. $10).  But, I wasn’t sorry.  These are amazing.  No fibre.  Not healthy.  I think they are the best brownies I’ve ever had.

Super Chocolate Chunk Fudge Brownies

Ingredients

3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup butter
8 oz. bittersweet chocolate, chopped
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 oz. white chocolate, chopped

Preparation Instructions

In a saucepan, bring sugar, butter and 2 tablespoons of water to a boil over medium-high heat.  Remove from heat; stir in 4 ounces of the of bittersweet chocolate until melted.  Let cool for 10 minutes.  Whisk in eggs, 1 at a time; whisk in vanilla.

In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the chocolate mixture.  Stir in remaining bittersweet chocolate and white chocolate.  Scrape into parchment paper-lined 9 inch square metal pan, smoothing top.

Bake in a 325F oven until toothpick inserted in the centre coming out with a few moist crumbs clinging, about 30 minutes.  Let cool in pan on a wire rack.  Cut into bars.  Yield: 24 bars.

2 responses

  1. Let’s be clear about the “Cut into Bars” instruction…
    You actually cut them into miniature squares… and i appreciate this to no end, because it means i can eat like… 14 and not feel bad about it… they’re bite-sized! It’s like you’re only eating… 3 real brownies….
    right?

Leave a Reply

