Crunchy Pecan Granola

You were probably expecting a post about the amazing turkey that I cooked over the weekend. Wrong.  I don’t do turkey – for two reasons: (1) I don’t have to – my mother (or this year, Grandma) and C’s mother both host turkey dinners and (2)  It scares the crap out of me.  I have never cooked a turkey – or any big cut of meat, for that matter.  I am working up the courage to do it.
My contribution to the Thanksgiving feasts was a Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole that is absolutely delicious.  I will post the recipe this week, if you’re lucky.

I made this for the first time a couple of weeks ago.  I burned it.  But, I’m eating it anyways with Liberte brand Vanilla Greek Yogurt – which is freakin’ delicious and totally makes up for the burnt taste.

In other news, I had to look up the difference between BURNED and BURNT.  It was confusing and it’s possible that I used them incorrectly.

In any case, you should be more careful than I was so as not to do the same thing.

Crunchy Pecan Granola

Ingredients

6 cups rolled oats (not instant)
1 cup pecans, halved (or another nut like almonds or walnuts)
1 cup flour
⅓ cups sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup oil
½ cup honey

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 320F.Mix dry ingredients together. Whisk the oil and the honey together and add to the oat mixture.  Spread on a baking sheet (it’s helpful if it has raised edges) and bake for 35 minutes, stirring all the way down to the bottom of the pan a few times during baking. Bake longer for more crunch, but don’t let it burn!

One response

  1. Hey, it’s me. Remember? Sooo I live in Berkeley, CA now…. kind of an authority on granola. Try using organic blue agave nectar instead of honey, throw in some coconut and dried cranberries and you got poetry cousin.

Leave a Reply

