Curried Broccoli Soup

So, I wish we were celebrating Thanksgiving again today.  Turkey dinner?  Uh, okay.  PIE?  That’s a dumb question.

On the bright side, today is flyer day – and I like flyer day.  BECAUSE I’M SUPER COOL.  I know!

OKAY – soup.  I make a lot of soup.  I like it, a lot.  I probably like soup more than I like flyers.
This is really easy and so good.  It’s not a really strong curry flavor – its mild enough that the Bud doesn’t notice it.  It’s one of the his favorites.

FINALLY, you say.  A soup that isn’t potato.
I aim to please.

Source: Fare for Friends

Curried Broccoli Soup

Ingredients

1 tablespoon butter
1/2 cup celery, chopped
1/4 cup onions, chopped
1 bunch broccoli, chopped
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup milk
1 cup 18% cream (optional – substitute with milk or water)
1/4 teaspoon of curry powder – or to taste
Salt and pepper to taste

Preparation Instructions

Cook celery and onions in butter for about 5 minutes.  Do not brown.  Add broccoli and broth and sinner until tender.  Puree in a blender or food processor.  Return to pan and add remaining ingredients.  Heat gently and serve.  Can be made in advance and reheated carefully.  Serves 6.

One response

Leave a Reply

